A country of contrasts

(For an English translation please scroll down)

Japan is een land van tegenstellingen.

Buiten Japan denken mensen vaak dat Japan heel high tech is waar op grote schaal robots worden ingezet zoals Asimo om het leven gemakkelijker te maken. Helaas is niets minder waar! Veel dingen die in het westen zijn geautomatiseerd, worden hier nog met de hand gedaan. Als je naar het gemeentehuis gaat, is er geen computer te bekennen! Alles wordt met de hand gedaan en er is een formuliertje voor alles!

Laatst ging ik naar de sportschool. Mijn man was zo lief geweest om een paar cadeaubonnen voor me te kopen. De eerste keer dat ik met hem mee ging sporten, moest ik mij inschrijven. Geheel logisch vond ik. Verrassender vond ik het toen ik de volgende keer opnieuw een inschrijfformulier onder mijn neus gedrukt kreeg toen ik de sportschool in liep. Wat bleek… ik zou ELKE keer als ik naar de sportschool zou komen en wanneer ik gebruik zou willen maken van de cadeaubonnen, een nieuw inschrijfformulier moeten invullen! Het personeel van de sportschool voert dit namelijk niet in, in hun systeem, nee… ze bewaren de inschrijfformulieren netjes bij elke cadeaubon, zo weten ze wie deze heeft gebruikt. Met de gegevens die ik had ingevuld doen ze verder niets meer. Het stoom kwam uit mijn oren! Wat ongelofelijk inefficiënt! Ik word daar dan een beetje rebels van. En vraag dan (voor mijn gevoel logische) vragen zoals:’Maar waarom kunnen jullie die briefjes dan niet gewoon kopiëren?) Het enige wat ik dan terug krijg is een schouderophaal en een ‘regels zijn regels’ antwoord.

Japan is een prachtig land, maar je moet wel net zo geduldig zijn (of worden) als de Japanners wil je het hier uithouden.

Japan is a country of contrast.

Outside of Japan most people think that Japan is really high tech and robots such as  Asimo are used on a great scale to make life easier. Unfortunately nothing is farther from the truth! A lot of things that are automated in the west are done by hand here in Japan. When you go to city hall there is not a computer in sight! Everything is done by hand and there is a form for everything.

The other day I went to the gym. My husband was kind enough to buy me some gift vouchers for the gym he goes to. The first time I went with him, I had to register myself. Completely according to y expectations. Of course they want your information, eventhough you are not becoming an actual member. It was much more suprising that the next time I went I was again faced with the dreaded registration form! As it turns out I would have to re-register again and again each time I would go to the gym! The staff of the gym does not enter my information into the system, they actually save each individual registration form together with the gift voucher for faling purposes. So they know the information of the person who has received the voucher. Not that they use this information for anything else! So it felt like they were doing it just to piss me off. I get very stubborn when I get faces with, in my eyes inefficient and ineffective rules so I start to rebel and ask questions like:’ But what if you would just make some copies of my registration form and use those?’ I really did not feel like having to sit there for half an hour each time to fill out a form with information THEY ALREADY HAD ON FILE! The only thing you get as a reply is a wary look and a ‘rules are rules’.

Japan is a beautiful country but you really have to be (or become) as patient as Japanese when you want to last here.

 

 

Categories: Stories about Japan | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

